It recently occured to RDJ that he’s definitely gotten over the hill in the last couple of years, and he can’t be a superhero forever… perhaps he doesn’t want to be a superhero forever.

In light of his on set injury RDJ stated: It got me thinking about how big the message from your cosmic sponsor needs to be before you pick it up. How many genre movies can I do? How many follow-ups to a successful follow-up are actually fun? Because, as quiet as it’s kept, I come from a family of very innovative writers and directors and actors and artists, and the circle of friends they were in were the people I heard having pun-offs playing poker at two in the morning, and it was just the most comforting aspect of my childhood. So there’s this kind of legacy of souls from what I consider to be a very particular time in entertainment, and I’m sensing a return to that…it’s what me and the missus are doing next. It’s not unlike: I heard (Tom) Brady signed on for three more years with New England, and then he’s done being a QB, because he’ll be 40. I’m 47, and I’ll be 50.

Not us. Not you. Apparently, not even RDJ has the slightest clue on his next superhero step. RDJ stated: I don’t know. I don’t know. Right now I don’t have a contract to do anything, and I did for the last five years.

We’re down Christopher Nolan. We’re down Christian Bale. We can’t afford to be down Robert Downey Jr.

